Guido Nincheri, 1911Guido Nincheri was born in Prato, an industrial town about twenty kilometres away from Florence, on September 29, 1885. Determined to study art, he entered, at sixteen, the Academy of Fine Arts in Florence against his father's wishes. There, Nincheri studied decorative and figurative arts, architecture, sculpting, painting, and different art movements, but it was Adolfo De Carolis who had the most influence on the young man's art. It is undoubtedly via De Carolis that Nincheri developed his love of the Pre-Raphaelites, Symbolism, and Art Nouveau (called Stile Liberty in Italy).

In 1910, Nincheri graduated and established his own studio in Florence. We only know of two projects from that period: murals in Stile Liberty at the Società di mutuo soccorso di San Marco (an assembly room for workers' unions) and at a private mansion, the Palazzo Nanni.

In 1913, Nincheri married Giulia Bandenelli and, while he waited for an important project to start, they went on honeymoon on the other side of the Atlantic. Their ultimate destination was to be Argentina, where school friends had relocated, but Nincheri first wanted to visit Boston and New York. They ended up staying in Boston longer than planned, and Nincheri's father eventually advised him to stay in North America because of the persistent rumours of war.

Guido Art store © Nincheri Family Archives

In November, Nincheri and Giulia left Boston and moved to Montreal where the Latin nature of French Canadians was more in line with their own characters. In Montreal, Nincheri found work with Henri Perdriau, the owner of a stained-glass studio. There, Nincheri drew sketches and cartoons for the windows the studio produced, while learning the art of making stained-glass windows. Nincheri’s reputation grew quickly, and within five years he had decorated the baptistery of Saint-Viateur-d’Outremont Church and the apse of St. Michael's Church, had designed St. Anthony of Padua, the Italian church in Ottawa, and was selected to design and decorate Madonna della Difesa.

In 1924, Nincheri opened his own stained-glass studio (located at 1832 Pie-IX Boulevard), which would make some 5,000 windows over the next 45 years. A year later, Nincheri introduced buon fresco, the traditional way of painting murals on wet plaster, to North America. In 1933, Nincheri was named Knight Commander of the Order of St. Sylvester by Pope Pius XI for the propagation of Faith he accomplished through his art and for his generosity towards priests and parishes that had little financial means.

Over the next few years, Nincheri's life was routine, decorating churches across the country and making stained-glass windows with his team of artisans. But everything changed when World War II broke out and Italy joined Germany's side. Declared enemy aliens, Italian-Canadians were arrested in droves and sent to internment camps. Among them was the 55-year-old artist who, against his will, had painted a fresco of Mussolini in Madonna della Difesa Church. Nincheri spent three months in the Petawawa camp. He was freed when his wife, Giulia, proved that the fresco had not been in his original plan.

Guido Lake Echo 1940s © Nincheri Family ArchivesSoon after his release, Nincheri moved to the United States where he was starting to find work and had just signed an important contract to decorate St. Ann Church, in Woonsocket, RI. He still had his Studio on Pie-IX Boulevard and a country place in the Laurentians, but Nincheri now lived in Rhode Island.

By the time he retired in 1969, Nincheri had decorated more than 200 churches across Canada and New England.

In July 1972, Nincheri received a knighthood from the Republic of Italy. He died on March 1, 1973, at the age of 88.

Guido Nincheri nait à Prato, une ville industrielle située à quelque vingt kilomètres de Florence, le 29 septembre 1885. Décidé à étudier les beaux-arts, il s'inscrit, à l'âge de seize ans, à l'Académie des Beaux Arts de Florence contre la volonté de son père. Nincheri y étudie les arts décoratifs et figuratifs, l'architecture, la sculpture, la peinture et différents mouvements artistiques, mais c'est Adolfo De Carolis qui a le plus d'influence sur l'art du jeune homme. Il ne fait aucun doute que c'est grâce à De Carolis que Nincheri développe son amour pour les mouvements préraphaélite, symboliste et Art Nouveau (nommé Stile Liberty en Italie).

En 1910, Nincheri reçoit son diplôme et établit son propre studio à Florence. Seuls deux projets de cette époque sont documentés : des murales de Stile Liberty à la Società di mutuo soccorso di San Marco (une salle de réunions pour syndicats) et un palais privé, le Palazzo Nanni.

En 1913, Nincheri épouse Giulia Bandenelli et, alors qu'il était en attente du début d'un projet important, ils décident d'aller en lune de miel de l'autre côté de l'Atlantique. Leur destination ultime était l'Argentine, où des amis de l'Académie avaient déménagé, mais Nincheri voulait d'abord visiter Boston et New York. Ils restent à Boston plus longtemps que prévu, et, après quelque temps, le père de Nincheri lui conseille de demeurer en Amérique du Nord à cause des rumeurs incessantes de guerre.

Guido Art store © Nincheri Family Archives

En novembre, Nincheri et Giulia quittent Boston et déménagent à Montréal où la nature latine des Canadiens-Français était similaire à la leur propre personnalité. À Montréal, Nincheri trouve du travail auprès de Henri Perdriau, le propriétaire d'un studio de vitrail. Nincheri y dessine des croquis et des cartons pour les vitraux produits par le studio et y apprend l'art de fabriquer des vitraux. La réputation de Nincheri croît rapidement et, en cinq ans, il décore le baptistère de l'église Saint-Viateur-d’Outremont et l'abside de l'église St. Michael's, il dessine l'architecture de St. Anthony of Padua, l'église italienne d'Ottawa, et il est sélectionné pour dessiné l'architecture de Notre-Dame-de-la-Défense et en faire la décoration.

En 1924, Nincheri ouvre son propre studio de vitrail (situé au1832, boulevard Pie-IX), lequel fabriquera quelque 5000 vitraux au cours des 45 prochaines années. Un an plus tard, Nincheri introduit l'art du buon fresco, la technique traditionnelle utilisée pour peindre des murales sur du plâtre humide, en Amérique du Nord. En 1933, Nincheri est nommé Commandeur de l’ordre de Saint-Sylvestre par le pape Pie XI pour sa propagation de la Foi par l'entremise de son art et pour sa générosité envers les prêtres et les paroisses qui n'avaient pas les moyens de le payer à sa juste valeur.

Pendant plusieurs années, Nincheri passe le temps à décorer des églises partout au Canada et à fabriquer des vitraux avec son équipe d'artisans. Mais sa vie bouscule lorsque la Deuxième Guerre mondiale éclate et que l'Italie se joint à l'Allemagne. Déclarés ennemis de l'État, les Italo-Canadiens sont arrêtés en masse et envoyés à des camps d'internement. Parmi eux se trouve l'artiste de 55 ans qui, contre son gré, avait peint une fresque de Mussolini à l'église Notre-Dame-de-la-Défense. Nincheri est interné trois mois au camp de Petawawa. Il n'est libéré que quand son épouse, Giulia, prouve que la fresque ne faisait pas partie de ses plans originaux.

Guido Lake Echo 1940s © Nincheri Family ArchivesPeu de temps après sa libération, Nincheri déménage aux États-Unis où il commence à trouver du travail et où il venait tout juste de signer un important contrat de décoration pour l'église St. Ann, à Woonsocket, au Rhode Island. Il possède toujours son studio sur le boulevard Pie-IX et un chalet dans les Laurentides, mais Nincheri vit désormais au Rhode Island.

À sa retraite, en 1969, Nincheri avait décoré plus de 200 églises partout au Canada et en Nouvelle-Angleterre.

En juillet 1972, Nincheri est adoubé chevalier de la République italienne. Il décède le 1er mars 1973, à l'âge de 88.